So, where exactly is the Newton Booth Neighborhood, anyway?

by

First of all, dear readers, I must apologize for my delay in putting up a new post here.  I’ve been working on new ideas for interesting and informative posts in the future on this blog…so please be patient with me.  Thank you!

Now, then:  You’ve no doubt been enjoying the blog so far, but we’ve neglected to answer the most important basic question of all:  Where exactly is the Newton Booth Neighborhood, anyway?  And Poverty Ridge?  And Alhambra Triangle?  And even more importantly, you might be asking yourself, do I live there?

In hopes of helping us all visualize where we are, I’m going to upload a map of the neighborhoods that the Newton Booth Neighborhoods Association covers.  Below, I’ll describe the boundaries briefly.

The part of Sacramento that includes the Poverty Ridge, Newton Booth and Alhambra Triangle neighborhoods.

The part of Sacramento that includes the Poverty Ridge, Newton Booth and Alhambra Triangle neighborhoods.

The boundaries of the three neighborhoods are:

Poverty Ridge:  19th Street (west), R Street (north), 24th Street (east), W Street (south).

Newton Booth:  24th Street (west), R Street (north), 29th Street (east), W Street (south).

Alhambra Triangle:  I-80 (west), R Street/Light rail tracks (north), 37th Street (east), I-50 (south).  Basically it’s the triangle south of R Street/the  light rail tracks, between I-80 and I-50.

Look carefully at the map.  Do you live in one of these three areas?  If so, congratulations…you’re in our neighborhood!

I’ll have more next time.  Please keep checking in at this blog…and thanks for stopping by!

3 Responses to “So, where exactly is the Newton Booth Neighborhood, anyway?”

  1. Patrick Wilson Says:

    I’m confused how 37th street is the Alhambra Triangle…. a little help? I thought 37th was by the Starbucks on Stockton

    • dhelmer87 Says:

      Patrick–Thanks for asking! Yeah, Alhambra Triangle is kind of a strange configuration. The short answer is, 37th Street is at the very tip of the eastern “point” of Alhambra Triangle. The light rail tracks are on the north side of the Triangle, and Highway 50 is on the south side. (Does that make more sense?) I’m going to post some more stuff about the neighborhood geography in a few days, just in case there are other readers who were also confused by my explanation…

  2. Patrick Wilson Says:

    AH ok, although everything East of Santa Ynez is a Freeway offramp, but I guess that makes the Triangle shape. I used to think that Stockton Blvd. was the edge and that made the Triangle with the two Freeways.

Leave a Reply

